Feral Roosters

A flock of feral roosters has invaded our yard. One of them even beat up Peepers yesterday. I found poor Peepers hiding in the shed, under the riding mower, with a bloody face. The hens were hanging out with the victor.

So last night I set up a trap made out of the spare dog kennel. It involved one corn cob placed on the ground inside the kennel, and a piece of string tied to the kennel door. The string, of course, leads into the house through a window.

This morning I heard plenty of crowing and I knew there were roosters afoot. From inside the house, holding the string, I watched two of the roosters wandering near the dog kennel. Peepers was livid but he was stuck in his own coop.

Then one of the roosters walked right into the kennel to eat the corn! I yanked on the string, which shut the kennel door, and the rooster is now trapped. Now I just have to figure out what to do with it.

IMG_0554

One rooster down, two to go. And maybe the hen that laid these guys, too.

5 Comments

  1. November 11, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Sounds like a bunch of gangsta, thug roosters. Probably attracted by the pit bulls 😉

  2. November 11, 2009 at 10:57 am

    I’ve never seen feral roosters! Except in “The Book of the Dun Cow”, I mean. Peepers is lucky you’ve got his back!

  3. daisydog said,

    January 6, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    wow! you are lucky. I have heard that when chickens smell blood its not a good thing.

  4. February 12, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    Hah that is great. I didn’t know there was smug roosters roaming the streets.


Leave a Reply

