Chickens and Vegetables

The chickens are doing great. Life is so dull, though I imagine chickens don’t care about excitement. Peepers is still a bit on the small side for a rooster. He’s about nine months old, I guess.

Peepers, Cackle, and the black sex-link (still unnamed)

Peepers, Cackle, and the black sex-link (still unnamed)

We get four eggs a day, or thereabouts (Cackle is still not laying). I’ve worked out a distribution cycle for neighbors and family since I really don’t eat eggs very often.

We had a scare the other day with a stray border collie that wandered into our backyard. I have green plastic fencing stretched to keep the chickens/dogs from walking out the side driveway, but it’s not particularly secure. A dog with enough drive could get through it.

The border collie hadn’t gone through the plastic fence, but its stare had pierced the mesh and was fixed on the flock. Peepers was squawking loudly. I came out to see what the noise was about, and saw the dog in half-crouch on the other side of the fence.

My presence broke the tension. The dog ran off down the driveway, and Peepers strutted off into the middle of the yard with his flock.

We have plastic fencing up around the vegetable garden too. It keeps the chickens out, no problem at all.

Canteloupe. No fruit yet.

Canteloupe. No fruit yet.

Squash. The rear right one got trampled by something (Dozer?) and the top broke off, taking a bunch of baby squash with it.

Squash. The rear right one got trampled by something (Dozer?) and the top broke off, taking a bunch of baby squash with it.

Yellow squash. Mmmm.

Yellow squash. Mmmm.

Mystery squash. I have no idea how to cook this, or even when it's ripe to pick.

Mystery squash. I have no idea how to cook this, or even when it's ripe to pick.

Green beans sprouting.

Green beans sprouting.

Corn sprouting (canteloupe is a little pushy there on the side)

Corn sprouting (canteloupe is a little pushy there on the side)

More dill than I know what to do with. Hey Monarch butterflies, this stuff was for you, so wth are you???

More dill than I know what to do with. Hey Monarch butterflies, this stuff was for you, so wth are you???

7 Comments

  1. Sprouting said,

    May 16, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Great garden. I have not planted anything outdoors yet but I do sprout a lot indoors.

  2. May 16, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    After the dog ran off Peepers was probably all, “That’s right — I’m baaaad!!!!”

    • Jennifer said,

      May 16, 2009 at 6:08 pm

      Lol. Yep. Peepers is bad to the bone. 😀

      I’m just glad he “yelled” for help this time… the last time he tried to protect his ladies from a dog, Star nearly ate him. He thinks he can totally whip any dog. My mistake, I guess, for raising him with Dozer.

  3. Leila said,

    May 20, 2009 at 6:54 am

    Oooo! Your mystery squash looks like a type of acorn squash. It’s yummy. Don’t let it get too big. It’s great sauteed. The garden is looking great. Ours is just coming up. Our strawberries are happy. We might get to keep a couple of blueberries before the birds get them. 🙂

  4. Leila said,

    May 20, 2009 at 6:56 am

    Or maybe hubbard squash now that I noticed it wasn’t flat. Sorry. If it’s hubbard, it’ll turn organgish beige and bake really nice.

  5. daisydog said,

    May 26, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    Well my thought was patty pan, but I think its already too big! But I am not an expert 🙂 What a great garden, I have had good intentions about planting one. Good to hear the flock is doing well.

  6. November 14, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    Love the photos. I also want chickens to run a muck in the yard but apparently that is a no no where I live. What is the use of living in the forest if you can’t have what you want? And I have seen your mystery somewhere before but the name escapes me.


Leave a Reply

