No Idea

Cackle’s name doesn’t fit her nearly as well as “Caterwaul” would have. This morning I woke up to hear what sounded like a cat in heat, yowling loudly in my yard.

Bleary-eyed, I stumbled outside in my robe, prepared to chase off the predator that was undoubtedly tormenting my chickens.

The sound was coming from Cackle, and once I was outside, I realized it was some sort of crazy clucking noise. It’s the sort of sound I might expect from a hen trying to lay a particularly big egg, except that she was just standing there on a cinder block (Squawkers was “occupying” the nesting box).

Then Cackle caught sight of me, gave a final yawk, and dashed behind the hen house.

I still don’t know what that was all about.

3 Comments

  1. February 25, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Maybe Timmy fell down the well?

  2. daisydog said,

    February 25, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Thats odd. I hope she isn’t sick too.

  3. hippygirl said,

    February 26, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    I found your site by searching the tags I was adding to my site. I added a link to your blog. Hope that is OK! I enjoyed reading all about Peepers and his ladies and can’t wait to read more.


Leave a Reply

